Writer People #1: The Prosaic/Poetic Info Dump Technique

I wrote this a while ago. Moving forward,I’m going to be using High Jinks Below Stares to think aloud from the writer’s perspective. Reblogging to prime the pump. See you soon– S

High Jinks Below Stares

Today, I’m working on the Boston Story that I drafted as part of NaNoWriMo. It’s an urban-fantasy-time-travel epic that demands far more world building than anything I’ve ever done. It’s a pain in the ass.

It starts off as an almost claustrophobic locked room tale. Today, I hit the point where everything opens up, and it’s delicious. I’m plagued by wondering if that needs to happen sooner than 28,000 words in. Yet, if it opens up too soon, it won’t have enough impact.

Because of the need for world building, I think readers of speculative fiction tolerate a longer set up than readers of other genres, as long as characters are developing and you have compelling action all the way through.

The catch-22 with speculitive fiction is that info dumps have to happen, but they cannot feel like an info dump.  I don’t always nail this one. I once wrote a 45 minute PowerPoint presentation  that…

View original post 322 more words

This entry was posted in Music & Sound. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

